Five Sentence Fiction – Perseverance

http://lilliemcferrin.com/five-sentence-fiction-perseverance/

The morning sun glints off the gold lying in the dust behind me, a reminder of a celebration long since forgotten. I turn my focus inward, feeling the air draw into my lungs, searching to find one more place to store energy for the day’s challenge. The ghosts take their marks next to me, ghosts who will never grow tired, ghosts who can always push on, even when my heart can ultimately take no more. The ghosts grin at me, and I nod, finally understanding. We run together, in a race that will last forever.

6 Responses to “Five Sentence Fiction – Perseverance”

  1. Sometimes we need those ghosts to keep us going…lovely piece!

  2. This is a very sweet piece. Thanks for sharing it 🙂

  3. Very good… it’s tight & tough.

  4. Powerful and succinct.

  5. Beautifully written. I like the ghosts and a gorgeous ending. x

Leave a Reply

