Visual Dare #26 – Eclipse

Another story that does not meet the 100 word guidelines. Sorry. But it wanted me to write it.

http://anonymouslegacy.blogspot.com/2012/10/visual-dare-26-eclipse.html

“Father, why do the winds blow?”

The King of the Air was gifted with four beautiful daughters. Such was his esteem for them that he would grant no man the boon of their hands in marriage if he could not prove himself to be an honest and true man. He brought all of his daughters to his throne room and gave each of them a special mirror.

“To my most constant daughter, the West Wind, whom I see every morning, I give this mirror. In it, a man will see his reflection as he would in a pool of water, unaltered by ripple or wave.”

“To my youngest daughter, the South Wind, I give this mirror. In it, a man will not see himself, but as you are warm and sweet and the harbinger of summer, he will see himself as those who love him see him.”

“To my eldest daughter, the North Wind, I give this mirror. In it, a man will not see himself, but as you are cold and bring about the death that is winter, he will see himself as his enemies see him.”

“To my most reclusive daughter, the East Wind, whom I see on the rarest of occasions, I give this mirror. In it, a man will not see himself, but he will see himself as he is in his noblest dreams.”

He then bid each of his daughters to travel the world, letting each man gaze into her mirror as he will. “When you find the man who sees the same image in each of your mirrors, you will know you have found a man honest and true enough to bind your lives to. I will grant him my blessings, and he will be the new King of the Air, ruling with you by his side.”

And so the winds we feel each day are the passing of the King’s daughters continuing their search. Since no man can meet the King’s impossible task, his rule will last forever, and his daughters will belong to no man but him.

That, my son, is why the winds blow.

2 Responses to “Visual Dare #26 – Eclipse”

  1. BRILLIANT. Brilliant brilliant brilliant. Holy cow. I absolutely adore this…..that is all.

  2. A truly epic storyline. Well worth the extra words.

Leave a Reply

