41st #SatSunTails

Prompt: http://rebeccaclaresmith.blogspot.com/2012/12/41st-satsuntails.html

“Doesn’t matter. She’s gone, and you’re alone.” Where compassion and a friendly ear hadn’t worked, I hoped this would. “C’mon, we’re going.”

“W-where? I don’t want someone else, if that’s what you have in mind.”

“Just come with me.” I led him back to my place, where we found what I was looking for down in the basement, and then out into the night, to a place he knew well.

It wasn’t until we were huddled beneath her bedroom window that he looked at me with the question in his eyes.

“What are we doing here? Don’t go catching integrity on me. She doesn’t love you, but you can still have her. Do what needs doing or shut up about it.”

I knelt there, waiting for him to decide she wasn’t worth it. Finally, he nodded, and I reached out to pat him on his shoulder. Smiling, we rose and burst through her window together.

Leave a Reply

