#ThursThreads – week 54

Prompt: http://siobhanmuir.blogspot.com/2013/01/thursthreads-challenge-that-ties-tales_17.html

The forest had been so confining that they hadn’t even realized they were nearing the clearing until they stepped into it. Not only had the trees concealed the open sky, but it had kept them from noticing the smoke rising from the cabin that lay in the center of the meadow. Simon and Emily hadn’t seen another person for so long that they had given up hope of finding anyone left alive this far into the future.

The man sitting on the porch of the rough-hewn cabin waved them on, and stood to meet them. He looked at the umbrella Simon carried in his hand, and he smiled.

“Oh, it found someone! I’ve been wondering for so long…”

Simon felt like he’d been struck by lightning. “You? You made the umbrella? How? Why? Why me?”

The man nodded, and brought his hands together in front of his chest in an expression of childlike glee. “I did, I did. As for how, and why, I would love to share that with you. Please, won’t you join me? I have some stew that’s been cooking since this morning, and it’s been a very long time since I’ve shared a meal.

“As for why you, why it found you, ah, that will remain a mystery, I suspect. But you are here. It works. And that is what gives me hope.”

Leave a Reply

