#ThursThreads – week 55

Prompt: http://siobhanmuir.blogspot.com/2013/01/thursthreads-challenge-that-ties-tales_24.html

The walkway opened into a largish room, lit by electric lights of a sort neither Simon nor Emily had seen in all of their travels. Walter was in the back of the room, adjusting the controls on a generator. The center of the room was dominated by a large table covered in books and papers, stacked in very neat piles. Walter didn’t turn around, but his voice sounded stronger than it had back in the cabin.

“I haven’t been down here in a long time. There’s not much point, really, not anymore. When I first came here, I believed that I’d find something – a cure, a solution – something, and then go back. But it wasn’t that simple. I hadn’t done it by myself, and I didn’t know enough to reverse it.” He walked over to the table and picked up a book, idly flipping through the pages, pausing here and there to read something, and then flipping some more. “So I let the umbrella go, and set about the task of being the last man on Earth.

“But it isn’t enough for me to rot or repent here where none can see. Not now, now that it’s back and you’re here.” Walter looked up, a gentle smile on his face. “Simon, do you ever feel like the umbrella knows what it’s doing? I think it does. I think that’s why you’re here, both of you, and I think it’s time to do what it wants me to do.”

2 Responses to “#ThursThreads – week 55”

  1. Wheeeeee!!!! OK you have officially piqued my curiosity here, and it is evident that Simon’s story is going a big ol’ SOMEWHERE with a capital S! I’m still not sure Walter is a good guy, though….HMMMMMmmmmm….!!!

    • Thanks! 🙂

      I’m a little surprised myself. I have probably 70% of what comes before they meet Walter written (much of it only on my puter), and I thought that this was where the story ended. Clearly, though, there’s more. Kind of freaked me out.

Leave a Reply

