Five Sentence Fiction – Empty

Prompt: http://lilliemcferrin.com/five-sentence-fiction-empty/

The minstrel smiled, a dismaying and awful thing, his grin a slash of hate beneath eyes filled with malice, and I knew I’d come to the right place. “Eliot was a fool; what I hold in my hand isn’t something as trivial and ephemeral as dust. There is no mighty king, seated on a throne of gold, no great champion, victor of a lifetime of battles, no magisterial vizard, commanding the supernatural forces of a million realms, no ordinary man, alone with his miserable thoughts, who is not afraid beyond telling of my prize. You think you’re ready, that you can command this power, bend it to your will, but you are wrong, and for this sin, you will pay.” He rotated his arm slowly, opening his clenched fingers to reveal the void within, and in the empty recesses of my soul, I came to know fear.

4 Responses to “Five Sentence Fiction – Empty”

  1. Wow! That is an intense piece. I like it 🙂

  2. Very powerful imagery! It’s so tempting to seek some kind of power outside oneself — and such folly. I’m with Lillie. I liked this, too.

  3. Very intense and commanding piece of fiction.

  4. Bold language that grabs your attention and holds you spellbound in the tale as it unfolds. Impossible to ignore… I like that!

Leave a Reply

