#ThursThreads – week 65

Prompt: http://siobhanmuir.blogspot.com/2013/04/thursthreads-challenge-that-ties-tales.html

I sat as far back in the chair as I could, hoping to get out of the reach of his halitosis, but he leaned forward, placing his elbows on his coffee-stained 2007 desk calendar. “You told him what? Do you know how hard I had to work to get you that audition? C’mon kid – you might have been hot stuff back in Bumblefuck Farms, but you’re in Hollywood now. Things have to be done a certain way if you want to make it here.”

I turned away, as if I couldn’t bear my shame any longer. In reality, the most interesting thing to look at in his office was the pattern formed by the water stains on the wallpaper under the termite-chewed windowsill. They reminded me of a fractal I’d seen on a computer screen saver once upon a time. Of course, the screen saver had moved around, and this didn’t – or at least, if it did, it moved too slowly to see. I’d delayed the inevitable long enough, anyway, and I slowly raised my eyes back to meet his leer.

“You know it’s nothing personal, kid, but if you’re not going to play ball, there’s just only so much I can do for you. Now, what’s say you convince me that I want to find you another audition?”

The buttons on my blouse were cracked, but they slipped loose just the same. Maybe this time I’d be able to watch the fractals in my mind until he was done.

Leave a Reply

