VisDare 31: Focused

Prompt: http://anonymouslegacy.blogspot.com/2013/07/visdare-31-focused.html

if I don’t do anything wrong they can’t hurt me if I don’t do anything they can’t tell me I was wrong if I don’t move they can’t make fun of the way I walk if I don’t speak they can’t make fun of my lisp if I don’t sing they won’t mimic me if I don’t ask them dance they won’t reject me if I don’t care if I don’t live if I don’t try I can’t fail so still so very still so quiet so very quiet they can’t hear me they can’t see me I’m a statue will they leave me alone will they not hurt me no no no teacher no don’t call on me I tried so hard they’re all looking at me I know the answer but I can’t speak doesn’t she know that please leave me alone please I’m a statue please no

5 Responses to “VisDare 31: Focused”

  1. I read quickly as it built up, good use of making it sound urgent by not punctuating. Nice.

  2. I like this. It’s quick and it builds the tension nicely. 🙂

  3. So sad. I can relate to that feeling of just wanting to be unseen, unheard, and left alone. It’s a lonely, sad way to live. A cop-out really… But it happens. It is real, and it can seem like the only way some time. Very well done.

  4. Really good. Desperate and terrifying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

