#VisDare 34: Fearless

Prompt: http://anonymouslegacy.blogspot.com/2013/08/visdare-34-fearless.html

Mama never would have let a sheep stand on the dining room table, but Mama was dead. And Papa never would have let a gopher dig up his garden, but Papa was also dead. Mayor Winters never would have let the horses into City Hall, but he wasn’t going to be letting or not letting anyone or anything do anything ever again. They’d turned on us, the animals had. And the trees. And the eukaryotes. And the night wind, blowing ever so softly through the trees, causing the leaves to rustle us to sleep.

Me? Oh, I was dead too. The goldfish did me in. Nasty business. And now they were living in the toilet, taunting me, daring me to flush them. But I was merely a shade, and my futile efforts to move the handle just caused the goldfish to laugh, making the water bubble. 

6 Responses to “#VisDare 34: Fearless”

  1. That’s some goldfish! I think I’ll leave the fish tank light on tonight to keep an eye on them.

  2. I liked the sing-song tone of the first paragraph.

  3. I love the dark tone this story has. I’m very much interested in knowing what happened before this and what will happen next 😀

  4. I love the dark side. This pleases me immensely!

  5. Loved this, you managed to keep a light tone despite it being a dark tale 🙂

  6. I agree with Laura, this is light whilst being dark. I was smiling at the smug goldfish swimming around the toilet. The description of the night wind is lovely.

Leave a Reply

