VisDare 38: Chase

Prompt: http://anonymouslegacy.blogspot.com/2013/09/visdare-38-chase.html

Right arm.

Left arm.

Breathe.

Right arm. Left arm. Breathe. Don’t look up. Don’t look up.

I looked up. There he is, a quarter-mile ahead of me. Or more. Maybe less. Hard to judge distances in a featureless ocean.

Right arm. Left arm. Breathe.

I shouldn’t be able to keep up this pace, not after this many days. But neither should he.

 My filter processed the water and removed the salt so I could drink. It collected minute sea creatures and turned them into food. I could artificially stimulate my muscles when I needed it, although the alarm was flashing, begging me to stop. We should have reached the far shore long ago, but it no longer matters.

 Right arm. Left arm. Breathe.

 If I could catch him, we could swim together. I could even let him gain on me should the other shore appear.

 Right arm. Left arm. Breathe.

One Response to “VisDare 38: Chase”

  1. I love the repetition, it’s so mechanical and almost monotonous but it gives you a sense of a never ending journey – well done!

Leave a Reply

