Five Sentence Fiction – Dancing

Prompt: http://lilliemcferrin.com/five-sentence-fiction-dancing/

There was none here that I desired more, none whose siren song called to me with such longing. Still, I approached my target with trepidation, knowing that once I requested his hand, my life would no longer be the same. I knew I wasn’t the only one here tonight who desired his touch, but I was the only who stood before him now, and the glint in his eyes told me that I had made the right decision. His body was cold in my arms, and he shared his iciness with me, his bony fingers caressing my back. We danced to music only we could hear, and when the dance was done, I let the dark claim me for its own with a fierce joy.

6 Responses to “Five Sentence Fiction – Dancing”

  1. I love the juxtaposition you’ve presented here, which I didn’t find until I read it a third time. You’ve presented a scene where women are waiting on line to dance with a specific guy. And it’s not she has started to dance with him do we realized the guy she’s waited so long to dance with is DEATH. She welcomes the relief he can give her, the relief from the pain she’s suffered with for the past several years. This endeavor has been quite poignant.

    Would love to hear what you think of my humble endeavor for this week. [Click on my name for my WordPress link the other one on Lillie’s site is for BlogSpot.

    Have a GREAT WEEKEND !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. I wasn’t expecting this ending… very well done.

  3. Wow…this was very creative and haunting!

  4. Aha! Beautifully written, love the imagery of the darkness claiming her 🙂

  5. Powerful ending…the dark claiming her with a fierce joy. Great take!

Leave a Reply

