Flash Friday, volume 2, Week 4

Prompt: http://flashfriday.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/flash-friday-vol-2-4/

The body stank. I mean, I was prepared for something, but I was in the tenth row and I could hardly breathe. I had no idea how the surgeon was able to stand it, and I didn’t really want to find out. If they’d dug up any other corpse from the graveyard, I wouldn’t even be here, but I just had to know.

The surgeon explained what he was doing as he sliced a line from Roger’s navel to his throat. There was no blood – it had all drained out when he’d died – but all sorts of other things came spilling out. It was fascinating, to learn about all of the parts my brother had had inside him, and I involuntarily rubbed my belly, trying to see if I could feel what I was seeing.

Suddenly the surgeon stopped, and pulled out something that gleamed dimly in the light of the tent.

Yep. I knew I’d left my watch somewhere.

Leave a Reply

