Race the Date – 9

Prompt: http://www.caramichaels.com/defiantlyliterate/2014/01/13/race-the-date-9/

The tiger paced around the cage, all muscle and teeth wrapped in a rippling fur coat. The bars were wrought iron, and I’d made them as thick and heavy as I could while still being able to lift them, but I still wasn’t sure they’d protect me from her. Even her tongue looked strong enough to knock me over as she laved her lips and yawned. Any hope of survival I’d had was utterly misplaced – no wall of iron was going to protect me from her, if she decided that it was time.

When the sky grew dark, I slept. When I was hungry, I ate, though the rodents that passed this way weren’t that nourishing, and eaten raw, they curdled in my stomach, but there wasn’t anything to burn within reach that wouldn’t have drawn more companions like the one on the other side of the bars. Besides, I told myself that it was somehow funny that she was being forced to subsist on the same things as I was. As if the creatures of the jungle were anything other than an appetizer for her eventual meal.

And then there were the times where she sat back on her haunches and stared at me, as if she was trying to figure out what to do with such an unusual toy. Humans didn’t come to this part of the world often, and I now knew why, my dreams of adventure and fame turned ridiculous in an instant, once I’d set eyes on her magnificence.

I’d made this cage thinking I would capture a prize to bring back home. But when I’d seen her, I ran inside and closed the door without thinking. I swear, sometimes I saw her laughing.

Leave a Reply

