Flash Frenzy round 27

Prompt: http://theangryhourglass.wordpress.com/2014/07/12/flash-frenzy-round-27/

“Daddy! Keep your toes out of the sand until the polish is dry!”

“Yes, pumpkin.” The memory was so strong that I spoke out loud, even though I was the only one on the beach. Elle was long gone, as was her brother, and her mother. Off to England, I think, or Ireland. Or maybe Scotland. It didn’t really matter – all of Britain was at the bottom of the North Sea, along with my kids, and my ex, and Roger.

Who runs off with a man named Roger?

I shook my head, trying to clear it of thoughts of Elle, her hazel eyes glinting as she snuck her hand out, holding the little brush dripping with red. Who would have wanted to sleep during that onslaught of giggles and life? But I let her have her fun, waiting to ‘catch’ her until she was on the last nail.

Dammit. If I didn’t get moving soon, no one would be around to remember anything. I’d gotten away during the night, but they weren’t just going to let me go. It was Against the Code. The beach was too exposed, but it was the only place around here I might find food, so I’d chanced it, and my luck had held.

The luck of a man whose kids were dead.

I looked out at the water again, trying to decide where I wanted to go. If I wanted to go. After some rest and some food, I’d finally reached some clarity. I wasn’t a revolutionary, I wasn’t a leader of a cause. I was just a man who’d wanted to see if there was still anything left. And now I knew.

I waded out into the water and waited, still, like my father had taught me, although I wasn’t hungry anymore. A fish swam right up to me, circling my legs, and I grabbed it. Its blood wouldn’t be the red of my dreams, but I didn’t think Elle would mind.

Leave a Reply

