VisDare 74: Normalcy

Prompt: http://anonymouslegacy1.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/visdare-74-normalcy/

This one’s too long, but I blame Angela. She gave us a great photo, plus a line in the introduction about a tribute to Robin Williams.

Irony Deficient

Ali gasped. Someone was rubbing his lamp! Who could it be? A young boy, with dreams of being king? A fair young maiden, willing to ease his lonely nights? Ralph?

Ralph? “Oh, no, not you! What are you doing rubbing my lamp anyway?”

“No one hides in lamps anymore. It’s the fifties.”

“That’s not the point, and you know it.”

Ralph sighed. “I need help. My lamp got crushed by a garbage truck, and I can’t think of any way to get a new home that doesn’t involve wishes.”

“Wishes?” Ali sputtered. “But you’re a genie! Grant your own wishes.”

“I…I can’t, okay?” Ralph blushed, turning a nice shade of chartreuse. “There was an incident, and I’m on suspension.”

“What kind of incident? Did you do that thing with the dragons again?”

“No! Of course not. They won’t answer me anymore.”

“Then what? War? Famine? Pestilence?”

“I granted a boy the power to be funny.”

“And?”

“I cursed him. I drove demons into his mind, demons that would cause him to struggle to ever be happy.”

Ali guffawed. “We’ve all done that. There was this one time…”

Ralph interrupted him. “No, you don’t understand.”

“You dared call them forth?” Ali’s voice dropped to a whisper. “They have been forbidden since the first days.”

“I know. I thought if I made him funny enough, I’d get away with it.”

“You’re going to pay a long time for this. Some things were just meant to stay hidden.”

“I know that now.” Ralph paused. “So, can you help me?”

“I kind of have to. It’s in the contract. What do you need?”

“A home. And not some stupid lamp – something modern, and everyday.”

“Okay, a home.”

“And make it roomy – I don’t want to be cooped up for a million years as the powerless genie.”

“Can do. What’s the third thing?”

“Can I have a hug?”

3 Responses to “VisDare 74: Normalcy”

  1. loooooooooooooooove this. so. very. much.

    *sniffle*

Leave a Reply

