Flash! Friday, volume 3, week 5

Prompt: https://flashfriday.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/flash-friday-vol-3-5/

“Thou Shalt Not Kill”

The angel smiled. “You’re not going to get into Heaven like this.”

“What am I supposed to do now? Will God free me from this post? Make my flesh impervious to fire?”

“That’s not how He works. He helps those who help themselves.”

“But I did everything I was asked to do. So many lives, so much pain. I was promised martyrdom.” I paused, not to fight back tears, for I had long ago lost the ability to cry. “I was promised peace.”

“Yes you were, but by whom? Not by Him, who has the power to grant such things.”

“You promised me.”

“Yes, I did.” He laughed. “Wisdom comes to us all, doesn’t it, even if it takes until our funeral pyre? Maybe you’re not quite as dumb as I thought.”

The torches came for me now, and the bonfire came alive. The last thing I smelled on this earth was brimstone, and He made sure I burned forever.

Leave a Reply

