Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 581

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-581/

“Where are you going?” Mickey asked. Her half-unbuttoned dress, flushed chest, and swollen lips beckoned me back to her arms, but I had to go. She knew where, and she knew why. She knew too much about me, and she understood me in ways I didn’t understand myself.

I should have turned away from her to make our separation sharper. People cut themselves much more often from knives that are too dull, after all. But I didn’t think I’d ever see her again, and I needed to take in every bit of her as I could before Hell came down on me. 

She sat forward on her knees, and I stared into the valley between her dangling breasts wanting to do nothing more than lose myself in that darkness. Tears started dripping from her eyes. Soon the storm would start. Fuck. I even loved the way she cursed me out. No one else had ever cared enough to do that.

“I’ll do that thing you like. I’ll do anything you want. I don’t care. Don’t…” Mickey’s voice broke. “Don’t go. Please.”

I finished straightening my clothes and picked up my duffel. 

Fuck. Everything in me was telling me to stay. She’d drown me in her body and in her arms, and I could forget. Forget the pain. Forget the promise. Forget. Until it came for us here.

I heard the scream she gave as the door closed behind me in my dreams until my very last night.

Leave a comment