Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 601

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-601/

I cringed as the apartment door closed with a groan. I was going to take care of that while she was out of town and I’d totally forgotten. 

Maybe I could distract her?

“Hey, Muri! How was your first week on the job?”

Muri stuck her head into my office, saw the pile of dishes and Coke bottles, and bit back the obvious reply. “‘On the job?’ Who am I, Andy Sipowicz?” 

She padded into our bedroom, partially muffling the rest of her reply. I caught the end. “…fine. They trained us pretty well.”

“Days not too long?”

Muri tossed her shirt at the hamper and grimaced as it fell off the heap. Her bra followed, then her jeans and underwear, but when she caught my hopeful look, she just stared meaningfully at the bag of chips that I’d left on her side of the bed and stepped into the bathroom, turning on the shower.

“Not too long. And I like my team.”

I put down the toilet seat and sat down, looking around the bathroom quickly, trying to see it with her eyes.

“Oh, yeah?”

“Yeah. I thought it’d be weird being in the capsule all week with Kyle, but he’s really thoughtful and funny. Helps when there’s no privacy, y’know?”

“Uh-huh?”

Muri turned off the shower and grabbed her towel, drying off behind the curtain.

“I am so tired. Oh, by the way – they want me back on the launch pad in the morning. Two weeks this time.”

Leave a comment