Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 600

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-600

I was already in my mind when I arrived.

Wait. This is going to be complicated.

50 was already in my mind when 10 arrived. 10 ignored 50 – I’d gotten fat and bald and hairier than dad, and there was even a ring on my finger. I’d gotten married? Best not to ask. 50 was doing that adult thing of arranging snacks and looking at my watch. 10 looked at my watch too. Some things never change.

Neither 50 nor 10 had noticed 4 come in. 4 knew how to be quiet when I needed to.

15, on the other hand. 15 was a pain in my ass. “You’ve moved all my stuff!”

50 sighed. “I’ve moved all my stuff. It’s been 30 years.”

“31,” 4 added. “372 months.”

“How many days?” 15 mouthed off. 4’s eyes went distant. I was thinking.

“Never mind that,” 50 said. “We need to talk.”

“Even me?” Asked 24. 24 was scared of my own shadow.

“Yes, even you. And you too, 44.”

44 looked startled. “But I’m a fucking mess.”

“So am I,” echoed dozens of voices. 7 giggled at the use of the word “fucking.” 8 did not.

I looked at me. And me. And me. I saw so many different paths I could’ve taken. I knew what I was about to experience at 9, at 22, at 35. Goddamn 35.

“But I don’t wanna be.” 3’s voice was soft. I picked 3 up and put me on my lap.

“Me either.”

Leave a comment