Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 501

Catching up from the last couple of weeks…
Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-501/

“You gotta shut them up, Tommy! Those dogs wake your momma up and no cookies for you tonight!”

I sure as heck didn’t want to miss out on grandma’s triple-chocolate-with-extra-chocolate cookies, so I grabbed the leashes off the doorknob and went outside. It was cold and the sun had just come up over the horizon, but the dogs didn’t mind. They were barking up a storm at a squirrel or raccoon or shadow. Who knew with these two?

“Monkey! Goldfish! C’mere!” Why we’d let my little sister name the dogs when she was only three, I had no idea, but they came running over to me as usual when I called.

They about tore my arm off at the shoulder as they dragged me to the dog park, and it didn’t take that long to get there.

We weren’t the first ones at the park this morning – Janie was here with her three mutts, and she smiled when she saw me. “I was hoping you’d be here today.”

“R-Really?” I wondered if my cheeks were red enough from the cold to hide my blush.

She laughed. It was a very nice laugh. “My dogs love playing with yours, so it’s nice that they get this treat today.”

I laughed too. “Yeah, they do look like they’re having fun, don’t they?”

“They do.” Janie reached into her pocket and pulled out a small, wrapped box. Now it was her turn to blush. “Merry Christmas, Tommy.”

Leave a comment