Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 535

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-535/


“But you said that when you were done with work we could go!”

“I said I’ll think about it. And I’m not done with work!”

“But dad…”

“I said I’ll think about it! If you ask again, the answer will be no. Now you’ve got to let me work.”

She slunk away, not for the first time that day. She wanted me to go to the park with her. To play video games. To buy something – whatever it was. I mean, fuck. What does she think I am?

This project has turned into a major pain in my ass. The client waited until a week before delivery to change, like, everything.

Assholes.

As if I don’t have enough on my plate. Now I have to gut a 63-slide deck and reframe the entire presentation because some rich prick wandered in and decided that he didn’t think what we’d done would sell.

Done with work? I’d never be done with work.

I suppose I might have heard the garage door opener. It’s possible I could have noticed that she hadn’t asked for anything in hours, but frankly I was glad I could focus on one damned thing.

I didn’t even hear my phone buzz five different times.

The knock on the door was insistent, though. 

“Goddamn politicians! I’ll vote against anyone who’s knocking right now!”

But it wasn’t some candidate for dog catcher at the door with some useless pamphlets.

He did have a body in his arms, though.

Leave a comment