Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 542

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-542/

It’s not that simple.

I mean, it always is from your perspective.

Can’t you just, you ask, or maybe wouldn’t it be easier if you didn’t do that?

I appreciate that, I could say, I’ve never thought of that before.

No. No. No! Shut up, for Christ’s sake.

Do you even hear yourself? This isn’t about you. Not this.

Not everything is fucking about you.

Goddamnit!

So no. It’s not that simple. I’m fucking miserable like this.

Don’t you think if I could choose to not be like this, I would? If there was a switch or a choice or a way that didn’t involve medication and years of pain?

The only simple things are the moments.

The moment I wake up even though I’d rather not.

The moment I smile on the Zoom call.

The moment I do the dishes. The laundry.

The moment I take a shower.

The moments I breathe.

The moments I try so very hard to believe that I’m the person other people see, worthy of keeping around, and not the one I see.

That’s the choice. That’s what’s simple.

What, you expected an epiphany? A resolution?

I’m choosing to breathe this moment. That’s going to have to be good enough.

206 words
@drmag00

Leave a comment