Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 571

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-571/

The hallway was long enough for my head to stop hurting so bad. Billy walked behind me and to my side, as if he was making sure I wouldn’t run. 

Run? I wouldn’t have known where to run. I hadn’t exactly chosen this new life.

Neither had Billy, for that matter. He just happened to be Johnny-on-the-spot when I was attacked. He ran them off, but the damage was done. 

I’d been delirious with pain and fear and have no clear memory of how we got back to Billy’s place. At some point, I tasted blood in my mouth, the hot, coppery liquid lighting me on fire, and then it was all chaos.

In the week that followed, Billy had been my lifeline. He taught me about who I was now and what I needed to do to survive. Twice, he and I went out so I could learn how to feed, but I found the whole thing repulsive, and only drank what he’d forced me to. 

We reached Her door. Billy hadn’t told me anything about Her other than to not piss Her off. As if I knew how to do that. 

As I reached for the doorknob, Billy grabbed my arm, hard. I slapped it away – I’d had enough of that shit in my life – and glared at him. 

“Good,” he said. “You can get angry. You’re going to need that if you want to make it in this life. But not now. Not with Her. Got it?”

Leave a comment