Categories
Uncategorized

#ThursThreads, week 394

Prompt: https://siobhanmuir.com/thursthreads-tying-tales-together-week-394

She pulled the hoodie down and turned to me. “So, do I look like I’m twelve?”

I grinned. “Not with that ass, sweetie.”

She swatted me, thought about it, and then punched me in the arm. “You know what I mean, you asshole. Do I look like I’ll fit in with the girls at the Taylor Swift concert?”

“You’ll be fine.”

“Will I? You know this is the first ‘mommy-daughter’ outing I’ve taken Hannah on since you married me. I just want it to go right.”

I pulled her close to me and kissed her on top of the head. “You’ll be fine. Hannah likes you just fine.”

“She’s got a funny way of showing it.”

“That’s because she’s twelve going on twenty-five. She’s got a funny way of doing everything.”

“Gods, I remember. Or I thought I remembered. Maybe I blocked puberty out entirely.” She paused, looking up at me, clearly scared. “Maybe you should go with her.”

“Oh no. I’m not going to listen to that much shrieking. If it was Taylor and a guitar and me and Hannah, maybe.” I kissed her again, this time with a little bit of intent. “Look, just don’t go all ‘mom’ on her and her friends. Make sure you know where they are, otherwise let them come to you. They’re going to want to act all grown-up, so let them, some. Then bring her home and tell me everything.”

“Okay. If you’re sure.”

I laughed. “No, but it sounds good, right?”

Leave a comment